2018 NCAA Division I Men’s Basketball Tournament

The 2018 NCAA Division I Men’s Basketball Tournament was a single-elimination tournament of 68 teams to determine the men’s National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) Division I college basketball national winner for its 2017–18 season. The 80th yearly edition of this championship began on March 13, 2018, and concluded with the championship match on April 2 in the Alamodome in San Antonio, Texas.
During the initial round, UMBC became the first 16-seed to conquer a 1-seed from the men’s championship by defeating Virginia 74–54. [1][2] For the first time in tournament history, none of the four top seeded teams in a single region (the South) advanced to the Sweet 16. Additionally, the tournament featured the first regional final matchup of a 9-seed (Kansas State) and an 11-seed (Loyola-Chicago).
Villanova, Michigan, Kansas, and Loyola-Chicago, the”Cinderella team” of the championship, reached the Final Four. Villanova defeated Michigan in the championship match, 79–62.
Atlantic Sun Conference champion Lipscomb created its NCAA tournament debut.
The 2018 championship was the first time since 1978 that none of the six Division I college basketball-playing schools located at the Washington, DC metropolitan region — American, Georgetown, George Mason, George Washington, Howard, and Maryland — made the NCAA Championship.

Read more: fighthits.net

Did you like this page? Please leave a comment below.


Security Code: